15 Great Moments In The NHL’s “Playoff Beard” History

There is no definitive history of the NHL “Playoff Beard” but the tradition has given us some amazing facial hair.

1. 1980: Ken Morrow, New York Islanders

Many say that the playoff beard tradition started in 1980. Denis Potvin, of the Islanders, said it came organically. The team would “play four games in five nights in the first round and it was just something that kind of happened.”

2. 1988: Lanny McDonald, Calgary Flames

3. 2000’s: Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings

4. 2000’s: Kris Draper, Detroit Red Wings

5. 2003: Ken Daneyko, New Jersey Devils

http://strangewaysherewecome tumblr.com

6. 2006: Bret Hedican, Carolina Hurricanes

7. 2006: Mike Commodore, Carolina Hurricanes, rockin’ 90% hair, 10% face

8. 2007: Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim Ducks

9. 2008: Jaromir Jagr, New York Rangers

10. 2009: Chris Mason, St. Louis Blues

11. 2009: Maxime Talbot of the Pittsburgh Penguins proves that the lack of beard isn’t a team problem

12. 2010: Scott Hartnell, Philadelphia Flyers

13. 2010: Ville Leino, Philadelphia Flyers

14. 2011: Shea Weber, Nashville Predators

15. 2011: Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins

In the end it doesn’t matter how good your beard is, it just matters that try…BECAUSE IT’S THE CUP!

Check out more articles on BuzzFeed.com!

This post was created by a member of BuzzFeed Community, where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!

  Your Reaction?


    Now Buzzing