Skip To Content

    These Are The 7 Most Important K-Pop Headlines From This Week

    My heart is going ~dumhdurum~ after listening to Apink!

    1. Twice announces YouTube Originals docuseries Seize the Light.

    View this video on YouTube

    TWICE / Via

    On April 13, Twice's official YouTube channel released the first trailer for Twice: Seize the Light, a YouTube Originals documentary series that allows fans to follow as they embark on the North American dates of last year's Twicelights Tour.

    If you have YouTube Premium, you can watch the entire Twice: Seize the Light series when it airs on April 29, but if not, don't worry — a new episode of the eight-part series will be released every Wednesday.

    I can't wait to find out more about Twice through this show and relive all the best parts of the Twicelights Tour too! ✨

    2. Apink made everyone's hearts go "Dumhdurum" this week!

    View this video on YouTube

    Apink (에이핑크) / Via

    "Dumhdurum" is the title track of Apink's 9th mini-album, Look, which was released on April 13. With its upbeat chorus, elegant concept, and smooth vocals, it's easy to see why the queens achieved an all-kill (aka they were No. 1 on all of the major Korean music charts) this week with the powerful song!

    This is Apink's first all-kill in almost five years since the release of their 2015 hit single "Remember" and honestly, with a bop like "Dumhdurum," they deserve it!

    Congratulations to Apink on their incredible comeback! 💫

    3. SuperM will participate in "One World: Together At Home" on April 18 and perform their own online concert on April 26.

    Gabriel Olsen / Getty Images

    According to Global Citizen, One World: Together At Home is "a historic, cross-platform global special that will celebrate and support health care workers and others on the frontlines, and the World Health Organization (WHO) as they lead the fight against the COVID-19 pandemic."

    The event will feature "leading global health experts alongside exciting performances by the world’s top artists and comedians," including SuperM! The group will be participating in the digital livestream of the event, which begins at 2 p.m. EST on April 18 and ends at 8 p.m. EST, so make sure you don't miss it!

    SuperM will also be the first group to perform on SM Entertainment and Naver's new digital concert platform Beyond Live on April 26! Their performance, called "SuperM Live," will air on Beyond Live at 3 p.m. KST (2 a.m. EST on April 25).

    According to Soompi, Beyond Live "will provide online-optimized digital concert content beyond just posting existing offline performances online." Beyond Live will also use "various digital means, such as real-time comments and digital light sticks," so get ready to bop this weekend and the next, y'all!

    4. Starship Entertainment's newest boy group Cravity made their debut on April 14.

    View this video on YouTube

    starshipTV / Via

    Consisting of nine members — Serim, Allen, Jungmo, Woobin, Wonjin, Minhee, Hyeongjun, Taeyoung, and Seongmin — Cravity swore to ~break all the rules~ with their debut album released on April 14 . The group's name comes from a mixture of the words "creation" and "gravity," and they're definitely pulling in fans left and right with their bold debut!

    Speaking about the group's debut in a statement, member Jungmo said: "All of our members and I have a lot of dreams that we want to achieve, and we will make sure to do our best to accomplish those.”

    Congrats on your debut, Cravity! I can't wait to see what the future holds for you.

    5. NCT Dream announces new album and that the group will be restructured.

    Jung Yeon-je / Getty Images

    Yes! The Dreamies will be releasing their new album, Reload, on April 29 and we can't wait to see what they're preparing for this undoubtedly amazing comeback!

    Now, onto restructuring! In the past NCT Dream has operated on a graduation system, meaning that once a member turns 18 (Korean age 20) they graduate out of the group and move into other NCT units. We saw this happen when Mark graduated out of the group when he turned 20 (and, tbh, we all cried over "Dear Dream").

    According to SM Entertainment, after Reload promotions have finished, NCT Dream's graduation system will no longer be in effect and Mark will return to NCT Dream, making it a seven-member group once again! The other six members of NCT Dream — Chenle, Jisung, Renjun, Haechan, Jeno, and Jaemin — will participate in new NCT teams in the future and carry out "global promotions" with these new groups as well.

    You can read the full, translated transcript of the statement on Soompi.

    6. Monsta X releases music video for "You Can't Hold My Heart."

    View this video on YouTube

    Monsta X / Via

    Surprise, Monbebe! Monsta X released a surprise music video for their song "You Can't Have My Heart" from their all-English album All About Luv today! Announced a day before its release, the video is full of unique visual effects and soulful looks as the members sing in a spinning red room.

    But the fun doesn't stop there! Earlier this week, Monsta X released the schedule for their upcoming mini-album Fantasia X, which will be released on May 11. Time to get excited!

    7. And finally, Bvndit, NU'EST, Astro, and Chungha are all releasing new music!

    View this video on YouTube

    BVNDIT / Via

    Let's break down this week's announcements!

    * Bvndit has their pre-release single "Children" out on April 20! The group already shared the song's album artwork online (which features the members' adorable childhood photos!) and shared an animated teaser for the song on April 15.

    * According to Soompi, NU'EST has already shot their music video for their next comeback which will be released on May 11.

    * Astro's entertainment company, Fantagio, confirmed that the group will make a comeback in May and that all six members will participate! In November, member Moonbin took a hiatus due to health concerns, but will be returning for this new comeback. Welcome back, Moonbin! 👏

    * On Thursday, Chungha revealed the schedule for a pre-release single which will be released on April 27.

    Have an amazing weekend and enjoy Bang Bang Con! 💜

    Big Hit Entertainment