Skip To Content

    NCT's Doyoung Covers Harry Styles' "Falling," And 5 Other K-Pop Headlines You Need To Read

    We could listen to Doyoung's voice all day, tbh. 🎶

    1. NCT's Doyoung released a gorgeous cover of Harry Styles' "Falling" this week!

    View this video on YouTube

    NCT / YouTube / Via

    Released March 22, the performance is both beautiful and emotional — you can really feel Doyoung's vulnerability through his delicate vocals. Add in a darkened backdrop, soft lighting, and some perfectly timed reverb, and the end product is a heartrending cover that will stick with you long after the first listen.

    This is actually Doyoung's second performance of the song in the the last few months. He performed it for the first time during his solo "DoTalk Concert," which was held online last month on his birthday (Feb. 1).

    Fun fact: Harry and Doyoung actually share the same birthday, so this was truly the birthday twins crossover we never knew we needed but are so glad to have!

    2. IU released "Lilac."

    View this video on YouTube

    1theK / YouTube / Via

    I've said it once and I'll say it again: it is IU's world and we are all just living in it. 🤩The phenomenal singer, songwriter, actor, dancer, performer, and all-around star released her fifth studio album this week, Lilac, and it's truly a master class in talent, songwriting, and artistic vision.

    Lilac is IU's first full full-length album in four years and is an honest, introspective love letter to her twenties as she bids them farewell to embark on a new era as a 30-year-old. She wrote every song on the album, including its eponymous single, "Lilac," a funky disco track that compares the end of her twenties to a beautiful spring day filled with falling flowers.

    In true IU fashion, the music video for "Lilac" is filled with little references to her career — like the board at the back of the train station that's filled with references to her past album titles — and fans are already starting to share their theories online about what it truly means. Let me know your theories below too!

    This week also saw the release of Stray Kids' "조각," Itzy's "Midzy," and CLC's Sorn's "Run," so be sure to check those out, too! ✨

    3. Victon’s Byungchan and SF9’s Rowoon will star in upcoming historical K-drama Affection.

    FNC Entertainment, Play M Entertainment

    Do I have some fantastic news for you! SF9's Rowoon and Victon's Byungchan will be gracing our television and laptop screens again in a new historical drama called Affection.

    According to Soompi, the drama is based on a Korean graphic novel of the same name, and its story centers on a princess (Park Eun-bin) who must disguise herself as a man to become the crown prince after the death of her brother.

    It has been revealed that Rowoon will portray the princess's easygoing and kindhearted teacher, Jung Ji-woon, while Byungchan will play the princess's loyal and steadfast bodyguard, Kim Ga-on. I can't wait to see how they all interact together when the drama is released later this year!

    4. Members of Pentagon, A.C.E, Momoland, and Brave Girls were all featured in Ul:Kin's exhibition at Seoul Fashion Week!

    View this video on YouTube

    Seoul Fashion Week / YouTube / Via

    On March 23, Pentagon's Shinwon and Wooseok, A.C.E's Donghun and Kim Byeongkwan, Momoland's JooE and Jane, and Brave Girls' Eunji, Minyoung, Yujeong, and Yuna all participated in fashion brand Ul:Kin's Fall/Winter 2021 exhibition at Seoul Fashion Week.

    The star-studded showcase took place on Day Two of the weeklong event in the National Museum of Korea. According to the brand, the collection "serves as a metaphor for reckless self-sacrifice. It shows how what we eat, drink, and consume ends up harming us."

    "For humans to take a step in the right direction, we, humans have to change. We have to reflect on what we are consuming and sacrificing. The change will only happen when we face the inconvenient truth," they wrote.

    Because of the coronavirus pandemic, Seoul Fashion Week is being held virtually this year from March 22 to March 27. You can find more information about how to watch the showcases here.

    5. Monsta X has postponed their 2021 tour for the foreseeable future because of the pandemic.

    📢 The MONSTA X World Tour is being rescheduled. As soon as we have the new dates finalized we’ll share the updated schedule. Hold onto your tickets, as they will all be good for the new dates once announced. Stay tuned for new dates soon!

    @OfficialMonstaX / Twitter / Via Twitter: @OfficialMonstaX

    Monsta X's company, Starship Entertainment, shared some very sad but also very understandable news this week: The group's 2021 US and Canada tour has been postponed because of the coronavirus. This is the second time the tour has been postponed; it was originally set to be held in June and July of 2020 before it was moved to April and June of 2021.

    On March 25, Starship Entertainment shared a statement on Twitter that they have "decided to postpone the performance" of Monsta X's world tour in Canada for the foreseeable future.

    "We plan to secure a new performance schedule, putting the safety of fans, artists and staff first. All tickets will be honored and valid for the new dates once they are scheduled," they wrote. "We ask for generous understanding of the fans who have been waiting for the [tour]."

    6. And Red Velvet's Wendy, NU'EST, Itzy, and more announced that new music is on the way!

    ‘음색 여신’ 웬디 솔로 데뷔! 첫 미니앨범 ‘Like Water’ 4월 5일 발매, 오늘부터 예약 판매 시작! WENDY with the ‘goddess-like vocal tone’ to release her first mini album ‘Like Water’ on 4/5! Pre-orders to start from today! #WENDY #웬디 #Like_Water #레드벨벳 #RedVelvet

    @RVsmtown / Via Twitter: @RVsmtown

    * More information about Wendy's upcoming solo album was revealed this week! The album, titled Like Water, will be released April 5 and features two title tracks. The first one, "When This Rain Stops," aims to console and empathize with listeners. The album's promotional schedule was also released this week.

    * StayC shared a concept teaser for their upcoming single album, Staydom, which will be released April 8.

    * According to Soompi, SM Entertainment has confirmed that NCT Dream will be making a comeback in April and that member Mark will join them!

    * Itzy has announced that their fourth mini album, titled Guess Who, will be released April 30.

    * NU'EST will release their second full-length album, Romanticize, on April 19. The group's website has been updated to include their upcoming promotional schedule.

    * Per Soompi's translation, Park Bom will be making a comeback with the single "DoReMiFaSol" on March 31.

    That's it for this week! Have a lovely weekend, and be sure to catch up on last week's news if you missed it! ✨

    Kakao M

    BuzzFeed Daily

    Keep up with the latest daily buzz with the BuzzFeed Daily newsletter!

    Newsletter signup form