Skip To Content

    Blackpink's Lisa Debuted As A Soloist With "Lalisa," And 5 More K-Pop Updates You Need To Know

    This is not a drill: LALISA IS HERE!

    1. Blackpink's Lisa made her solo debut with "Lalisa!"

    View this video on YouTube


    The 24-year-old Thai singer, rapper, and dancer might be known to most as a member of the influential girl group Blackpink, but she's ready to reintroduce herself as a powerful solo artist in her own right with her bombastic debut single "Lalisa." 

    The track's title draws inspiration from Lisa's real name and, according to an interview with Spotify, is "all about self-power and confidence." From its first beat drop, the song is an epic masterclass in both talent and performance, and Lisa's star power is in full effect as she deftly blends confident, spitfire rapping with relaxed refrains and coquettish dance moves. 

    The single oozes cool confidence throughout with its clever lyrics and rhymes, and also makes reference to Lisa's personal life and her career as a member of Blackpink in its unforgettable final verse. "From Thailand to Korea and now we're here, went for the throat," she raps. "Being the greatest of all time ain't fantasy. Jet black and pink crown belongs to we."

    With its catchy chorus, bold choreography, and gorgeous scenes, it's impossible to watch the music video for "Lalisa" and not fall under the rapper's spell. It's the type of music video you could watch on repeat over and over, which is likely why, at the time of writing, it has already racked up over 13 million views in just two hours. In addition to the song's release, The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon also revealed that Lisa will hold her first live solo performance of "Lalisa" on the show on Sept. 10, so be sure to tune in!

    This week also saw the release of Stayc's "Stereotype," Omega X's "What's Goin' On," Young K's "Guard You," Baek A Yeon's "0% (아무것도 하기 싫으면 어떡해)," Purple Kiss's"Zombie," Hyuna&Dawn's "Ping Pong," Luminous's "Run,' and Monsta X's "One Day," so be sure to check those out as well! 🎶

    2. N.Flying all have tested positive for COVID-19.

    View this video on YouTube

    FNCEnt / Via

    On Sept. 3, FNC Entertainment announced that three members of rock band N.Flying — vocalists Lee Seung Hyub and Yoo Hwe Seung and bassist Seo Dong Sung — had all tested positive for COVID-19. 

    According to the statement, which can be read in full on Soompi, the three members used rapid detection kits after they began "experiencing symptoms of health problems." When the tests came back positive, the entire group took PCR tests, halted all activities, and began self-quarantining. 

    On Sept. 4, it was revealed that drummer Kim Jae Hyun had also tested positive, and, four days later on Sept. 8, the company announced that guitarist Cha Hun had tested positive as well. 

    "Accordingly, Cha Hun has joined Lee Seung Hyub, Yoo Hwe Seung, Seo Dong Sung, and Kim Jae Hyun, all of whom tested positive, in following the instructions of health authorities by undergoing self-quarantine and taking all necessary measures," FNC wrote per translation by Soompi. "We apologize for giving fans and many other people cause for concern. Our agency will diligently follow the instructions of health authorities, and we will do our utmost to help our artists return in good health as quickly as possible." 

    Get well soon, N.Flying! We wish the group a very speedy recovery. 

    3. f(x) commemorated their 12th anniversary on Instagram this week!

    4. Enhypen's Jake provided an update on the group's health and recovery process after six Enhypen members tested positive for COVID-19.

    Enhypen member Jake poses on a bed in a regal uniform

    5. BTS's Jimin, Jungkook, and J-Hope released a powerful performance video of their single "Butter!"

    View this video on YouTube


    On Sept. 8, Jimin, J-Hope, and Jungkook proved that their dancing skills were, in fact, smooth like butter in a new performance video! 

    The short clip shows the three BTS members dressed in all white as they effortlessly groove along to Megan Thee Stallion's verse from the latest remix of their Billboard chart-topping single "Butter." The routine even features the members cheekily sticking out their tongues when she says "ahh" — one of Megan Thee Stallion's trademark moves.  

    We're keeping our fingers crossed that the two artists will get to perform the track live together one day! Because that would honestly be perfection. 

    6. And Shinee's Key, Itzy, TXT, and more announce that new music is on the way!

    KEY 키 The 1st Mini Album ‘BAD LOVE’ ➫ 2021.09.27 6PM (KST) #KEY #키 #SHINee #샤이니 #BADLOVE #KEY_BADLOVE

    @SHINee / Via Twitter: @SHINee

    * Shinee's Key announced that he will release his first mini album, Bad Love, on Sept. 27.

    * Hot Issue revealed they will their first single album, Icons, on Sept. 29.

    * AB6IX unveiled their promotional schedule, album contents, and multiple concept photos ahead of the release of their second album, Mo' Complete, on Sept. 27.

    * Itzy posted an opening trailer, track list, album contents, concept photos, and comeback schedule ahead of the release of their first full album, Crazy in Love, which will be released on Sept. 24.

    * Highlight's Yang Yoseob shared a comeback trailer, concept photos, comeback schedule, and album preview ahead of the release of his first full album, Chocolate Box, which drops on Sept. 20.

    * Tomorrow X Together revealed they will release a new version of their single "0X1=Lovesong (I Know I Love You)" featuring Mod Sun on Sept. 10.

    That's it for this week! Have a lovely weekend, and be sure to catch up on last week's news if you missed it! ✨