Skip To Content

    EXO Releases "Don't Fight The Feeling," And 5 Other K-Pop Headlines You Need To Know

    This is not a drill: D.O., Lay, and Xiumin are BACK! 🤩

    1. Exo embarked on an interstellar journey this week in the music video for "Don't Fight the Feeling!"

    View this video on YouTube

    SMTOWN / YouTube / Via

    The wait is officially over, EXO-L! Exo's newest album, Don't Fight the Feeling, is finally here, and I am feeling nothing but pure joy after listening to it! The five-track album is the first Exo album since 2019's Obsession and allows the group to put their own unique spin on a variety of genres, including the funky love song "Paradise," poignant R&B single "Runaway," and the album's feel-good title track: "Don't Fight the Feeling."

    This is also the first album that members D.O., Xiumin, and Lay have participated in since 2018's Love Shot and Tempo, respectively. It is also the last album that members Baekhyun and Chanyeol were able to participate in before they enlisted in the South Korean military earlier this year. Acting as both a triumphant return and farewell of some of the group's beloved members, the album broke Exo's previous record with over 1.2 million pre-orders and became their sixth album to sell over a million copies. They really weren't kidding when they called this a special album!

    In true Exo fashion, the music video for "Don't Fight the Feeling" is loaded with secret references. In one scene, Chanyeol can be seen waving Exo's flag from "Obsession," and concept images for the album included direct references to the group's 2017 single "Power." Whether this means that the Exo we're seeing in the music video is the same team from "Obsession" or if this is one of the "Power" parallel universes are just a few of the Exo music video questions that will keep me up at night. I'm still thinking about Baekhyun floating in the water at the end of "Power!" Is he still there? Let me know about your Exo music video theories, and how "Don't Fight the Feeling" ties into them, in the comments. 👉✨

    This week also saw the release of N.Flying's "Moonshot," Twice's "Alcohol-Free," Ha Sung Woon's "Sneakers," Taeyong and Seulgi's "Rose," Han from Stray Kids' "Happy," BM's "Broken Me," Wei's "Bye Bye Bye," Hoya's "Stay With Me," Lightsum's "Vanilla," and TXT's "Magic," so be sure to check those out too!

    2. Twice kickstarted the summer with a performance of their new single, "Alcohol-Free," on Ellen:

    View this video on YouTube

    TheEllenShow / YouTube / Via

    It's Twice time! The iconic girl group made their comeback this week with the release of their 10th mini album, Taste of Love, and followed it up with a performance of their new hit single, "Alcohol-Free," on Ellen on June 9.

    The members' phenomenal performance definitely complements the song's laid-back, summertime vibe as they sway to the rhythm in front of a Twice-themed bar. As the day turns into the night, the sky fills with fireworks as the girls ~dance the night away~.

    Plus, can we talk about how inventive and fun the choreography for "Alcohol-Free" is? One of my favorite moments in particular is during Dahyun's rap when the members form a bar and Mina acts as a bartender and offers her a drink. Iconic!

    3. BTS's RM released a self-composed single titled "Bicycle":

    View this video on YouTube

    BANGTANTV / YouTube / Via

    The smooth, slow-grooving single was written, produced, and arranged by RM and John Eun and released this week as part of BTS's 2021 Festa. It's become tradition for a member of BTS to unveil a new song during the two-week festivities — past Festa releases include the fan-favorites "Ddaeng," "Tonight," and "Still With You" — and RM's new single certainly does not disappoint!

    In addition to releasing the song, RM also penned a letter explaining his personal motivations behind writing the track. "I've always wanted to make a song about bicycles," he wrote. "My heart always flutters when I ride a bicycle, but I always feel a little sad when I put my two feet on the pedals. I don't know the reason why." He also shared that he feels the most "physically free" when he's riding his bike and watching the scenery blur by him.

    "I hope this song stays on your playlist for a long time and becomes your bike song," RM wrote. "I would be more than happy if you could accept it and think of it as a small gift." You can read the post in its entirety here.

    4. Verivery's Yeonho released an incredible cover of Olivia Rodrigo's "Drivers License!"

    View this video on YouTube

    VERIVERY / YouTube / Via

    Quick! You need to drop everything and watch Yeonho of Verivery's flawless performance of "Drivers License." Seriously, it's that good. He captures the somber, poignant message of the song's lyrics perfectly, and his soft, lilting falsetto gives me goosebumps.

    His performance is part of Verivery's YouTube series Veri Ground, which features the group's members showing off their incredible talents through multiple dance and vocal covers. In the last two weeks, fellow member Gyehyeon uploaded a stellar cover of Baekhyun of Exo's solo single "Bambi," while Yongseung unveiled a powerful dance cover set to Conor Maynard's "Only One."

    If you're interested in learning more about Verivery after watching these performances, then make sure to check out their latest single, "Get Away," too!

    5. TXT gave a ~magical~ performance on Good Morning America:

    View this video on YouTube

    Tomorrow X Together Official / YouTube / Via

    The group performed their cheery pop anthem "Magic" on June 10. The song is TXT's first single to be released entirely in English and is featured on their new album, The Chaos Chapter: Freeze.

    Ahead of their performance, the group spoke with the hosts of Good Morning America about the track. "It's a really great song for the summer," Taehyun said. "We're really happy to share it with you guys."

    Huening Kai continued: "We hope you’ll clap and dance along [to the song]." So if you need me, I'll be clapping and dancing along to the group's performance!

    6. And 2PM, Brave Girls, NCT Dream, and more announced that new music is on the way!

    View this video on YouTube

    JYP Entertainment / YouTube / Via

    * 2PM released the first trailer for their long-awaited seventh mini album, Must, which will be released on June 28. Titled "The Hottest Origin," the trailer sees the group's members in multiple locations when a comet flies across the night sky and causes the city to lose power.

    * Brave Girls posted two very different sets of photo teasers ahead of the release of their fifth mini album, Summer Queen, on June 17.

    * Tomorrow X Together shared their upcoming promotional schedule for their English single "Magic," which includes a performance of the song on The Late Late Show With James Corden on June 14.

    * Per Xportsnews, WayV's Kun and Xiaojun will make their debut in a new unit together with the single "Back to You" on June 16.

    * A.C.E unveiled the promotional schedule, track listing, and concept photos for their upcoming fifth mini album, Siren:Dawn, which will be released on June 23.

    * NCT Dream revealed that they will release their first repackaged album, Hello Future, on June 28.

    * SM Entertainment confirmed to Newsen that Red Velvet will make their highly anticipated comeback in August.

    That's it for this week! Have a lovely weekend, and be sure to catch up on last week's news if you missed it!