Skip To Content

    Blackpink's Rosé Performs On "The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon," And 5 Other K-Pop Headlines You Need To Know

    Both BTS and Rosé broke records this week!

    1. BTS took home three Kids' Choice Awards this week!

    this is for @bts_bighit & ARMY everywhere! congrats on winning the #KCA for fav song 🎶

    @Nickelodeon / Twitter / Via Twitter: @Nickelodeon

    It's been an award-winning and record-breaking week for BTS! On Mar. 13, the group took home three awards at 2021 Kids' Choice Awards for Favorite Song, Favorite Music Group, and Favorite Global Music Star.

    Then, on Mar. 14, BTS made history as the first Korean group to perform at the Grammys with their incredible performance of their single "Dynamite." Although they might not have won at the Grammys, that doesn't mean the group's accomplishments — or the power of "Dynamite" — stopped there. In fact, BTS and their fans just grew stronger.

    On Mar. 16, it was revealed that the group had broken another Guinness World Record after over three million fans tuned in simultaneously to watch the music video release of their single "Dynamite." And just a day later, on Mar. 17, "Dynamite" surpassed yet another milestone by becoming the group's first single to be certified double platinum with over 2,000,000 copies sold in the U.S. alone, a true testament of BTS's talent and popularity stateside. But it's not just in the U.S., "Dynamite" is so beloved across the globe that Tom Holland, Tessa Thompson, and Steven Yeun are singing along to it!

    Congratulations on all of your accomplishments this week, BTS! We can't wait to see what records you break next. 💜

    2. And Rosé performed "On The Ground" on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon this week!

    View this video on YouTube

    The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon / YouTube / Via

    On Mar. 16, Rosé made her U.S. solo television debut on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon with the performance of her new single "On The Ground." In addition to her performance, Rosé also broke two solo artist records this week and opened up a YouTube channel!

    First, the records! According to Soompi, Rosé's single broke the previous first week album sale record for female solo artists upon its first day of release with over 280,000 copies sold in Korea alone. Then, it was revealed that "On The Ground" garnered over 41.6 million views within its first 24 hours of release, setting a new total view record for a soloist.

    And, to make this week even sweeter, Rosé also opened her own YouTube channel. Her first video, a five minute interview film, is a must-watch and features adorable clips of Rosé from her childhood juxtaposed with clips of her performing on tour with Blackpink and preparing for the release of "On The Ground." You can watch the video here!

    3. Pentagon's new music video for their song "Do or Not" is magical.

    View this video on YouTube

    Pentagon / YouTube / Via

    We need to talk about how adorable Pentagon's music video for their latest single "Do Or Not" is! The group is known for their fantastic music video storylines — just check out "Naughty Boy" or "Humph!" if you don't believe me — but this one truly takes the cake. The video sees the members of Pentagon all competing to try to win the love of the same girl. As they all try various adorable ways of impressing her like sharing the same headphones, dancing, and magic tricks, they come to realize that their friendships are what's most important.

    The video is not only the perfect fit for the song's upbeat melody and cheeky lyrics, but it also features the group's leader Hui who recently enlisted in the military last month, so it's especially sweet for fans.

    "I think the bright and refreshing concept of "Do Or Not" is perfect for us," member Yanan shared about the song during a press conference on Mar. 15. "We are be able to show everyone each of our charms through our performances. If I could, I would give it 110 out of 100, since this is our 11th mini album."

    This week also saw the release of Super Junior's "House Party," Chung Ha's "Demente (Spanish Version)," Purple Kiss' "Ponzona," Jessi'sWhat Type of X,” Ciipher's "I Like You," and Seori's "Lovers in The Night," so be sure to check those out too! 🎶

    4. Monsta X's Shownu, AleXa, Oh My Girl's Arin, and more have all been cast in season two of Goedam.

    5. Stray Kids collaborated with Alesso and Corsak on new track "Going Dumb!"

    View this video on YouTube

    Alesso / YouTube / Via

    Yes, you read that sentence right! Swedish DJ Alesso, K-pop group Stray Kids, and Chinese singer and producer Corsak all came together to release a new single "Going Dumb" on Mar. 19.

    According to Soompi, the powerful EDM single was "produced in partnership with the game PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds (PUBG) Mobile." Earlier this week, Alesso shared a teaser video that showed the behind the scenes process of creating the track which included the members of Stray Kids singing and laughing in the recording booth.

    On Mar. 21, the game will celebrate its third anniversary with live DJ performances, including a performance by Alesso, so be sure to check it out!

    6. And CLC's Sorn, Kang Daniel, and Cosmic Girls all revealed that new music is on the way!

    #손 Digital Single [RUN] Lyrics Spoiler 🍀 2021.03.23. 18:00 (KST) #CLC #씨엘씨 #SORN #RUN

    @CUBECLC / YouTube / Via Twitter: @CUBECLC

    * CLC's Sorn is making her solo debut on Mar. 23! The singer announced the release of her first digital single, "Run," with image teasers that feature little song lyric spoilers to get fans properly excited.

    * Kang Daniel shared a mysterious teaser that "something new" will be released on Apr. 13.

    * Cosmic Girls announced they will release a new mini-album, titled Unnatural, on Mar. 31.

    * Kim Sejeong released a photo teaser for her upcoming second solo album, I'm, which will be released on Mar. 29.

    * According to Soompi, STAYC will be making their first comeback this April.

    * UP10TION's Lee Jin-hyuk released the schedule for his upcoming album album Scene 26 which will be released on Apr. 5.

    * Winner's Kang Seung-yoon shared multiple posters to announce that his first full solo album, titled Page, will be released on Mar. 29.

    That's it for this week! Have a lovely weekend, and be sure to catch up on last week's news if you missed it! ✨