back to top
Food

I Just Found Out Parmesan Cheese Isn't Vegetarian And Basically My Whole Life Is A Lie

*Sad trumpet sounds*

Posted on

If you are a vegetarian who loves cheese, I highly recommend you stop reading this article and do literally anything else. What I'm about to tell you is shocking and — depending on how much you love cheese — life-changing. Proceed with caution.

Fox / Via giphy.com

Here I was, minding my own business and watching some Tasty recipe videos when an ingredient caught my eye. The video said the dish required "vegetarian parmesan."

BuzzFeed / Via youtube.com

Obviously I went straight to Google for answers, which is when I found out PARMESAN IS NOT VEGETARIAN.

Fox / Via giphy.com

Apparently to earn the authentic legal title of Parmigiano Reggiano, the cheese must be created using calf rennet.

WTF is rennet? Great question. Basically rennet is an enzyme used in the process of coagulating milk to turn it into cheese, and it's usually found in the lining of calves' stomachs.

Netflix / Via giphy.com

And I have more bad news. Parmesan isn't the only cheese that uses rennet. Here are some other cheeses that are technically not vegetarian.

Blumhouse Productions / Via giphy.com

Gruyère

Picturepartners / Getty Images

Manchego

Petrych / Getty Images

Pecorino Romano

Kcline / Getty Images

Gorgonzola

Igorr1 / Getty Images

I don't know about you, but this revelation has me questioning every part of my existence. What else isn't vegetarian? Will cheese taste different now that I know the truth? What is going on??

FX / Via giphy.com

I'm sorry I had to be the one to tell you this heartbreaking truth. Now if you'll excuse me, writing this post made me hungry so I have to go buy more cheese.

Tillamook / Via giphy.com
  1. Now that you know the truth, are you still going to eat cheese?

    Correct
    Incorrect
    I'm a vegetarian, and I am NOT eating cheese ever again.
    Correct
    Incorrect
    I'm a vegetarian, and I'm totally going to continue eating cheese.
    Correct
    Incorrect
    I'm not a vegetarian, and I am NOT eating cheese ever again.
    Correct
    Incorrect
    I'm not a vegetarian, and I'm totally going to continue eating cheese.
Oops. Something went wrong. Please try again later
Looks like we are having a problem on the server.
Now that you know the truth, are you still going to eat cheese?
  1.  
    vote votes
    I'm a vegetarian, and I am NOT eating cheese ever again.
  2.  
    vote votes
    I'm a vegetarian, and I'm totally going to continue eating cheese.
  3.  
    vote votes
    I'm not a vegetarian, and I am NOT eating cheese ever again.
  4.  
    vote votes
    I'm not a vegetarian, and I'm totally going to continue eating cheese.

Top trending videos

Watch more BuzzFeed Video Caret right

Top trending videos

Watch more BuzzFeed Video Caret right
Take quizzes and chill with the BuzzFeed app.