back to top

Illustrating Middle Childhood

HDFS 305 Homework #4

Posted on

1. Self-Esteem

Self-esteem and self-worth is how you feel about yourself and your value as a person. This is linked with Erikson's Industry vs. Inferiority stage which occurs from age 6-12 and they're developing specific competencies.

2. Self-efficacy

Self-efficacy is a person's belief in their own ability to achieve a goal. This is based off of previous performance, their vicarious learning, verbal encouragement, and their emotional reactions. If they believe they can do it, then they can.

3. Self-competence

Self-competence is knowing or understanding what you can do or are capable of. During middle childhood, you develop a stable sense of yourself in different areas. These include physical appearance, social acceptance, behavioral conduct, scholastic competence, and athletic competence.

4. Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs

Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs is a humanistic theory stating that our lower needs need to be met before we can go up the pyramid. After our basic needs (physiological) are met such as food, sleep, and shelter, we can move up to safety, then belonging and love, to self-esteem, and finally self-actualization.

This post was created by a member of BuzzFeed Community, where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!