back to top
Community

10 Must Reads For Fans Of YOU'RE THE WORST

When I think of Jimmy Shive-Overly’s writing I think of these books. Who knows, he might have written all of them… Just to be clear, he didn’t.

Posted on

Exteriors And Interiors by C. McGee

I actually thought that this might have been written by one of the writers of You’re The Worst (I looked it up, it’s not). It’s a bit more over-the-top than the show, but it possesses the same sort of dark humor and surprising depth.

Downtown Owl by Chuck Klosterman

You know how Jimmy is repulsed by his family and their working class hobbies, yet is simultaneously in desperate need of their approval? Yeah, somehow this book reminds me of that. If Jimmy had been raised in a fly-over state rather than the UK, he definitely would have written Downtown Owl.

Men Women and Children by Chad Kultgen

This book is clever, sexual, cynical, misanthropic, and insightful in the exact same ways as Jimmy. (Yeah, I just needed to include the above gif and this is the book where it seems most appropriate.)

How To Be Good by Nick Hornby

Part of me added this because of the title. It seemed fun to put a book called How To Be Good on a list of recommendations for fans of You’re The Worst. But the title isn’t the only reason it’s here, the book goes from irreverent humor to deep-dive character study in a way that is undeniably reminiscent of You’re The Worst.

Be My Enemy by Christopher Brookmyre

Ok, so basically any of Brookmyre’s novels could have been written by Jimmy, but I chose this one because it’s about how we define ourselves by our enemies. Seemed appropriate. It’s also very clever.

Wool by Hugh Howey

Okay so there is no way in hell that Jimmy would have written this book, but I couldn’t help myself from including it on the list because Amy (Paul’s Girlfriend) references it in Season 2 in one of dorkiest bits of pop-culture dialogue ever written. See below.

"People think Joss Whedon sold out when he did ‘The Avengers,’ but that’s like saying Hugh Howey should have never expanded ‘Wool’ from a Kindle Single to a full novel."

If you want more on pop culture references from You're The Worst checkout this article. ***Note*** Stephen Falk, the creator of the show, has written a novel but I can't find that anywhere.

This post was created by a member of BuzzFeed Community, where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!

Every. Tasty. Video. EVER. The new Tasty app is here!

Dismiss