Nut allergies are the worst.
If it's really serious, you have to lug a large EpiPen around, which can really cramp your style.
Or you might get real sick and that'll end Netflix & Chill real quick.
Even though you're *EXTRA* careful with what you eat, you still MAY NOT KNOW that sometimes nuts sneak their way into unassuming treats.
It looks delicious. You want to eat it. But it's usually made with nuts. NOPE.
Beware. The fun holiday fruits you would like to sink your teeth into? Don't. Marzipan is made from almond paste! Stick to real fruits.
It looks so lush, so inviting. But pesto *typically* contains pine nuts. Some manufacturers produce the sauce without them.
If you're at a restaurant, ALWAYS ask your waiter if the house pesto is prepared with nuts before ordering that pasta.
Ugh, I know, nuts ruin EVERYTHING. Be particularly careful around flavored rums. Read labels before bottoms up.
Some alcohols that contain nuts include:
Bombay Sapphire (almond)
Chicken Tikka Masala
Before you ~curry~ on with your take-out order, know that the glorious, creamy texture of Masala is often provided by cashews. Go home cashews, get out of here.
So first, you have Celiac disease or a gluten intolerance. Sucks. But all right, fine, bounce back. There are a lot of great substitutions! Just read the *ingredient list*. (I worry.) Because some popular gluten-free flours include almond and coconut.
Most pre-made granola cereals and bars are a minefield for an assortment of those intrusive, invasive nuts. Navigate toward the symbols that flag nut-free!
A great veggie burger is not a puck of faux meat. The typical recipe includes a hearty serving of veggies and beans. But for the most flavor, some veggie patties contain chopped macadamias, cashews, or walnuts. Ask before ordering!
Nougat is sometimes made with finely chopped nuts. Hazelnuts are a popular choice. Nougat-outta here.
Rough day for the dietary restrictive. In order for that pizza to taste as good as a New York slice, cashews are often used for flavor. SO TYPICAL.