back to top

Premiere: Step In The Name Of Love With Luvstep 6 This Valentine's

The popular series from Dirty South Joe and Flufftronix is back for its sixth installment.

Posted on

Happy Valentine's Day! Or, if you're a fan of bass music, it may be more appropriate at this point to say Happy Luvstep Day. That's because, as has become tradition since 2009, DJs Dirty South Joe and Flufftronix release new installments of Luvstep.

What's Luvstep? "It began as a reaction to the increasingly polarized directions dubstep and bass music were headed back in 2009," say DSJ and Fluff via email. "On one hand you had lots of proto-Skrillex-sounding stuff, which was fun to spin and produce but also really aggro, inorganic and testosterone-driven. On the other, old school dubstep was still very much thriving but mostly lived in very deep, dark, instrumental and chin-scratchy places. Luvstep was our attempt to cherry pick the best of the rarely made amorous, pop and r&b-driven songs from both these movements, as well as some experimental stuff on the fringes (eventually labeled post-dubstep, future bass, etc.). We wanted to tell a love story using bass music that anyone could get into, with zero regard for scene and sub-genre boundaries."

The first mix struck a chord, and ever since the two have been releasing mixes on Valentine’s Day. People as far as China and Russia are throwing Luvstep-themed parties, and running bustling Luvstep online communities.

"The support from fans has been amazing: we've clocked in millions of plays and downloads and we've heard countless stories of the mixes being used as a background for finding new romance or coping with love lost," say the guys.

This latest installment, Luvstep 6, sees Dirty South Joe and Flufftronix digging deeper than ever. "We found some amazing artists -- Joy in Australia and Onuka in Ukraine. We're still drawing lines between seemingly disparate new genres, this year you'll find saccharine-laced PC Music from Tielsie within a few minutes of some super epic cinematic Jack-Dawson-screaming-"I'm-King-of-the-World"-level tracks by Koven and Echos. So long as there's crazy/sexy/cool new bass music being made (and we haven't run out of movies to sample) we'll have more mixes to make and stories to tell."

Each year the Luvstep mix is preceded by a trailer. This year's was pretty great:

View this video on YouTube

For a lot of music fans, Luvstep was their first introduction to iconic artists such as Little Dragon, FKA Twigs, Charli XCX, and Dillon Francis. Today they continue that tradition with the likes of Crywolf, Joy, Infuze and many more.

BuzzFeed Music is happy to premiere Luvstep 6. Tracklist below.

1. Annie

2. Mitis feat. Crywolf - Oasis [Born Records]

3. Joker - Midnight (Bassnectar Remix) [Kapsize]

4. Odesza feat. Zyra - Say My Name (Infuze Re-Flex) [Counter Records]

5. Venemy feat. Alexandra - Let Go [Play Me Records]

6. Koven - Eternal & You [Viper Recordings]

7. The Glitch Mob feat. Sister Crayon - Beauty Of The Unhidden Heart [Glass Air]

8. Nikitch feat. Penelope Antena - Feel It Coming [Chateau Bruyant Records]

9. Onuka - Time [Enjoy Records]

10. Breakage feat. Detour City - Treading Water (Jakwob Remix) [Digital Soundboy]

11. JMSN - Things U Miss (Kamandi Remix) [White Room Records]

12. Melanie Martinez - Carousel [Atlantic Records]

13. Ryn Weaver - Octahate (Cashmere Cat Remix) [Friends keep Secrets]

14. Purity Ring - Push Pull [4AD]

15. Kito & Reija Lee - Turn Into You [Payday Records]

16. Banks - Drowning (Lido Remix) [Harvest]

17. Mura Masa - I'll Be Alright (Tonight) [Self Released]

18. Diane

19. Daughter - Love (Isoline Remix) [Glassnote Entertainment Group]

20. Ficci & Tanya Batt - Walk Away [Self Released]

21. Joy - Weather [Breaknative]

22. Nightcall & Satellite Empire - Finding You [Self Released]

23. Echos - Don't let Me Go [Self Released]

24. Adventure Club - Fade feat. Zak Waters [Adventure Club]

25. Laura Welsh - Break The Fall (Gemini Remix) [Outsiders Recorded Music]

26. Koven - Another Home [Koven]

27. Jack Ü feat. Kiesza - Take U There (Zeds Dead Remix) [OWSLA/Mad Decent]

28. Tielsie - Palette [PC Music]

29. Kimberly Anne - Liar (Jakwob Remix) [Polydor Ltd.]

30. Gorgon City feat. Jennifer Hudson - Go All Night (Wilkinson Remix) [Virgin EMI Records]

31. Dirty South - With You (Jai Wolf Remix) [Phazing]

32. Rita 1

33. Odesza feat. Monsoonsiren - Memories That You Call [Counter Records]

34. Rita 2

35. Ben Khan - Youth [Dirty Hit]