back to top

10 Tips And Tricks Every WhatsApp User Should Know

Including how to view a message without the blue ticks showing up.

Posted on

1. You can change your WhatsApp number.

If you've used multiple numbers on the same phone, a common problem you'll face is that you're going to have to give them your actual number, and the number that's synched with WhatsApp, unless you un-install and re-install the app.

But you don't need to do that anymore. There's a setting through which you can change which number is synched to your WhatsApp account.

2. You can prevent media from automatically downloading on to your phone.

It's always a problem when media files like images, video clips and audio files automatically download on to your phone, just taking up unnecessary space. However, you can now change your settings so that you can pick and choose which pictures to download.

3. You can disable your "Last Seen."

BuzzFeed

Both Apple iOS and Android operating systems allow for the time-stamp to be disabled, which means that the person you're messaging can't see when you were last online. They can, however, still see when you're actively online.

Advertisement

5. You can create a fake conversation.

Via whatsaid-whatsapp-prank.soft112.com

You can actually create fake conversations with yourself, through the app WhatSaid. It's an easy-to-use app, that not only allows you to create a fake conversation, but also change your display picture, last seen, and personal settings.

Tip: Makes for a great prank.

6. You can archive all your chats.

You never have to worry about losing old conversations, WhatsApp has an auto-backup feature, that saves all your chats and also allows you to restore it if you uninstall the app, or get a new phone. You can also decide if you want to manually backup your chats, or auto back them up.

7. You can access deleted messages on Android phones.

This can be done only on Android phones, because it happens through the memory card, which Apple phones don't have. Check it out here.

8. You can prevent people that are not in your contact list from seeing your profile picture.

As of now, anyone who has your number can view your screen name and your profile picture. There's a simple way to grant only the people in your contact list access to your profile picture. You have to change your "profile picture sharing" to "contacts only" in the privacy menu.

Advertisement

Step 3. When you’re done reading, close the app completely, turn your networks back on, and use your phone per usual. The sender won’t see the ticks turn blue until you open WhatsApp AGAIN.

BuzzFeed

If you’re on an Android, the sender’s ticks turn blue as soon as you turn your network back on, so you can read the messages in secret if you keep your network off forever which… isn’t advisable. That said, Android phones have an option to turn off read receipts altogether (if you’re OK with sacrificing the ability to see when other people have read your messages, too).

Every. Tasty. Video. EVER. The new Tasty app is here!

Dismiss