back to top
Community

5 Books To Read For Fans Of ESPN’s 30 For 30

In need of a screen break, but still want to experience the amazingness that is ESPN's 30 for 30 series? Any of these five sports books will bring you deep into the minds of coaches, athletes and the communities they play for. These new perspectives will leave you feeling energized and inspired.

Posted on

When the Lights Go Out by David Rodriguez

David "Niño" Rodriguez made his mark as an undefeated 36-0 heavyweight boxing contender and multi-belt champion. However, as he headed to the heavyset championship of the world, an attempted murder left him with hundreds of stitches. In this heart-pounding and inspiring memoir, Rodriguez writes about his road to glory, downfall and struggle to make his way back through advocating for bullied children.

Dust Bowl Girls by Lydia Reeder

Kirkus Reviews calls the Dust Bowl Girls "a heartwarmingly inspirational tale." This cinematic novel tells the story of a women’s basketball team in the 1920’s struggling to prove people wrong in the male-dominated world of sports. It's a great way to inspire you, as well as the women in your life this winter.

Courage to Soar by Simone Biles

With 19 medals - 14 of them gold - Olympic gymnast, Simone Biles, explores her beginnings in foster care and her journey to follow her passion for gymnastics. Biles gives you a first person perspective on the joys and trials of making her way to the Olympics. Once you read this book you will appreciate the hard work it takes to become an Olympian.

A Coaching Life by Gary Blair

Decades dedicated to coaching and mentoring young female athletes has brought Gary Blair a lifetime of memories and stories. His biggest moment: winning the title game of the 2011 NCAA Division I women’s basketball tournament. Blair’s heartwarming tale tells of his wins and losses on and off the court.

You're Welcome Cleveland by Scott Raab

After breaking the hearts of Cleveland fans by leaving for Miami, LeBron James finally came back to pursue his promise of bringing home an NBA championship. Scott Raab uses his infamous dark humor to follow the story of LeBron’s first two years back in Cleveland, and the pursuit of the NBA title for the city the two men call home.

This post was created by a member of BuzzFeed Community, where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!