Community

10 Amazing Books Written By Female Authors

International Women's Day may have passed, but that doesn't mean the awareness needs to stop! This post is all about the girl power! Here are some of my favorite books written by some fantastic female authors.

Posted on

The Shepherdess of Siena by Linda Lafferty

amazon.com

Virginia Tacci is a shepherdess in sixteenth century Italy. Raised by her aunt and uncle, Virginia has always had a passion for horses; however, due to her gender and class, she knows that she may never get the chance to ride them. Everything changes when Isabella de’ Medici, a skilled rider, shows up and inspires Virginia to reach for her goal and race in Siena’s Palio.

The Year My Mother Came Back by Alice Eve Cohen

amazon.com

Thirty years after her death, Alice’s mother appears to her, seemingly in the flesh, and continues to do so in one of the hardest years Alice has ever had to face. With her youngest daughter needing a major surgery, her older daughter seeking her birth mother, and Alice herself receives a daunting diagnosis. Although letting her mother back into her life is difficult, Alice does is with grace and humor, and she must revisit her own childhood in order to be a daughter once again and to take care of her own daughters.

This is Mexico: Tales of Culture and Other Complications by Carol Merchasin

amazon.com

Through a collection of well-written essays, Carol Merchasin provides readers with an in-depth look into Mexican culture and history. From religion to the educational role of telenovelas, Merchasin paints a picture of the delights, troubles, and struggles faced by the Mexican people.

At the Water’s Edge by Sara Gruen

amazon.com

After shaming themselves a New Year’s Eve party, Madeline Hyde and her husband, Ellis, are left looking for a way to win back his father’s favor and financial support. They decide that the only way to regain his favor is by accomplishing a task that Ellis’ father never could: the hunting of the Loch Ness monster. At the Water’s Edge is an exciting tale of a young woman who is forced outside of her comfort zone, as she struggles to find her way in a small Scottish town during World War II.

Until You by Jeannie Moon

jeanniemoon.com

Newly divorced Kate Adams finds herself in uncharted waters as the famous and gorgeous hockey player, David Burke approaches her on a sunny deck at a California Hotel. Charmed and bewildered, Kate agrees to be spontaneous for a change and accepts David’s dinner invitation. After all, it is her fortieth birthday, so why not go out with a man nearly ten years younger? Kate is scared to risk it all as she falls for David, but what Kate does not know is that David will break every rule in the book to keep her.

Wait for the Rain by Maria Murnane

amazon.com

At forty, Daphne White is distraught as her ex-husband is getting remarried, she’s losing connection with her daughter, and the career she used to dream about has somehow slipped from her grasp. Daphne White has lost who she used to be. So she heads to the Caribbean with her friends and that’s when she meets a much younger man named Clay Hanson. She ignores the inner voice telling her a fling is unnecessary, and finds herself rediscovering her enthusiasm for life and reclaiming the love for herself.

Renewable: One Woman’s Search for Simplicity, Faithfulness, and Hope by Eileen Flanagan

shewritespress.com

Renewable chronicles Eileen's engaging journey from midlife spiritual crisis to fulfillment, hope — and briefly, to jail.

After spending time in Africa as a part of the Peace Corps in her 20’s, Eileen Flanagan settled into suburban life until she woke up one day and didn’t recognize herself. Her memoir chronicles her journey back to Africa where she found the courage to come home and fight against corporate greed including her civil disobedience against the Keystone XL pipeline that landed her in jail. Fans of Eat, Pray, Love will love this true story of a woman who reclaimed her boldness and found the courage to change her life.

The Girls of Mischief Bay by Susan Mallery

star-telegram.com

Nicole Lord tries to be a supportive wife, but it is hard when her husband quits his job and will not even help take care of their son. Career-oriented Shannon Rigg has finally found a great guy, but the relationship will leave her questioning whether it is possible to have a successful job and personal life. And Pam Eiland is just trying to find a way to keep her marriage exciting now that her children have grown. Three very different women all destined to be Mischief Bay friends. Full of laughter, tears and love, The Girls of Mischief Bay is a memorable, must read.

100 Under $100: One Hundred Tools for Empowering Global Women by Betsy Teutsch

womensglobaltoolkit.com

There are billions of hardworking women around the world that lack the resources necessary to escape poverty. They are held back by a lack of healthcare, education and more. The tools highlighted in 100 Under $100 give readers the opportunity to help empower and aid women around the world.

Lost in Paris by Cindy Callaghan

amazon.com

Gwen Russell is beyond excited to be heading to Paris, this city she has always dreamed of visiting, even if it is to see her three older brothers play lacrosse. As soon as they land, Gwen is swept up in the city and even meets a cute boy named Henri. In all the excitement, Gwen learns that her all-time favorite band is holding a one-night only concert in Paris, and there are tickets available to the sold out show for three lucky people. The catch? Fans who want the lucky ticket, have to embark on a scavenger hunt around the City of Light. As Gwen and her new friends set out to find these tickets, they realize the concert tickets might not even be the biggest prize.

This post was created by a member of BuzzFeed Community, where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!