back to top

Here Are All The Politicians Who Voted Against Changing The Date Of Australia Day

All 44 of them.

Posted on

The Senate has voted against a motion calling on the government to change the date of Australia Day, with both the Liberal and Labor parties voting against it.


The Greens motion called on federal, state and territory governments to change the date of Australia Day so that all Australians could participate in celebrating a national day.


The only senators to vote in favour of the motion were seven Greens: Richard di Natale, Sarah Hanson-Young, Scott Ludlam, Nick McKim, Lee Rhiannon, Janet Rice and Rachel Siewert.

The Greens accused all sides of parliament of purporting to advocate for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, only to turn their backs when given the opportunity to do something.

Here is a list of all 44 politicians who voted against changing the date.

Eric Abetz (Liberal)
Catriona Bilyk (Labor)
Carol Brown (Labor)
Brian Burston (One Nation)
David Bushy (Liberal)
Doug Cameron (Labor)
Kim Carr (Labor)
Michaelia Cash (Liberal)
Anthony Chisholm (Labor)
Jacinta Collins (Labor)
Mathias Cormann (Liberal)
Sam Dastyari (Labor)
Jonathon Duniam (Liberal)
Don Farrell (Labor)
David Fawcett (Liberal)
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells (Liberal)
Mitch Fifield (Liberal)
Alex Gallacher (Labor)
Katy Gallagher (Labor)
Pauline Hanson (One Nation)
Derryn Hinch (Justice Party)
Jane Hume (Liberal)
Chris Ketter (Labor)
Kimberley Kitching (Labor)
Jacqui Lambie (Jacqui Lambie Network)
David Leyonhjelm (Liberal Democrat)
Ian Macdonald (Liberal)
Gavin Marshall (Labor)
James McGrath (Liberal)
Bridget McKenzie (Nationals)
Claire Moore (Labor)
Barry O'Sullivan (Nationals)
James Paterson (Liberal)
Helen Polley (Labor)
Louise Pratt (Labor)
Malcolm Roberts (One Nation)
Anne Ruston (Liberal)
Scott Ryan (Liberal)
Lisa Singh (Labor)
Arthur Sinodinos (Liberal)
Dean Smith (Liberal)
Anne Urquhart (Labor)
Murray Watt (Labor)
John Williams (Nationals)

No-one from the Nick Xenophon Team was in the chamber to vote.

Alice Workman is a political reporter for BuzzFeed News and is based in Canberra.

Contact Alice Workman at

Got a confidential tip? Submit it here.