back to top

The Drunkest Moment At The Indie Spirit Awards

The booze flowed freely at the annual celebration of independent film, especially for the writer of Safety Not Guaranteed. Meanwhile, Silver Linings Playbook won four awards.

Posted on
David Mcnew / Reuters

The 28th annual Film Independent Spirit Awards unfolded in a brisk two-hour ceremony Saturday afternoon underneath a giant tent on the beach of Santa Monica, Calif., and as per usual, it was an irreverent, freewheeling affair. To wit: Host Andy Samberg opened the show with a gut-busting parody trailer for an oddball indie film called Bottle Cap about a woman named Bottle Cap (Samberg) desperate to run her hands through the wind outside a car window. Marisa Tomei played her mother. J.K. Simmons played her father. Ari Graynor and Chris Messina co-starred because "they're in fucking everything." The crowd loved it. (The awards air tonight at 10 p.m. ET/PT on IFC.)

But as great as Sanberg's opening monologue was — he successfully made an Oscar Pistorius joke ("There's been a lot of problems with this investigation...I think he's going to walk") and made fun of Anne Hathaway's awards show energy by likening her to IFC's slogan "Always On, Slightly Off" — the show was quickly stolen by the first winner of the night: Best First Screenplay winner Derek Connolly (Safety Not Guaranteed).

For several minutes, he slowly rambled through his acceptance speech, thanking practically everyone involved with his film.

David Mcnew / Reuters

Every so often, he would pause for several seconds, making it seem like he was done. He was not. He just kept going.

With the crowd growing increasingly restless, Bryan Cranston leapt up and poured Connolly a glass of whiskey.

David Mcnew / Reuters

Jameson was a sponsor of the event, and everyone had mini-bottles of it at their plate. Connolly downed the entire drink on the spot. And then he kept talking anyway.


Here is the full list of winners for this year's Indie Spirit Awards:

Best Feature

Silver Linings Playbook

Best Director

David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Male Lead

John Hawkes, The Sessions

Best Female Lead

Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Supporting Male

Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike

Best Supporting Female

Helen Hunt, The Sessions

Best Screenplay

David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best First Feature

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Best First Screenplay

Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed

Best Documentary

The Invisible War

Best Cinematography

Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best International Film


John Cassavetes Award (for film that cost under $500,000)

Middle of Nowhere

Robert Altman Award (given to director, casting director, and ensemble)


Truer Than Fiction Award

The Waiting Room

Someone to Watch Award

Adam Leon, Gimme the Loot

Producers' Award

Mynette Louie, Stones in the Sun