“American Hustle” And “Gravity” Top The 2014 Oscar Nominations

UPDATED: Oprah and Lee Daniels’ The Butler didn’t make the cut, nor did Tom Hanks or Emma Thompson. But see who is up for an Academy Award this year.

1. Best Picture

Fox Searchlight

12 Years a Slave (pictured)
American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Dallas Buyers Club
The Wolf of Wall Street

2. Best Actor

Paramount Vantage

Christian Bale, American Hustle
Bruce Dern, Nebraska (pictured)
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

3. Best Actress

Sony Pictures Classics

Amy Adams, American Hustle
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine (pictured)
Sandra Bullock, Gravity
Judi Dench, Philomena
Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

4. Best Supporting Actor

Focus Features

Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
Bradley Cooper, American Hustle
Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave
Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club (pictured)

5. Best Supporting Actress

Columbia Pictures

Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine
Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle (pictured)
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
Julia Roberts, August: Osage County
June Squibb, Nebraska

6. Best Director

Warner Bros. Pictures

Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity (pictured)
Alexander Payne, Nebraska
David O. Russell, American Hustle
Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave
Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street

7. Best Original Screenplay

Warner Bros. Pictures

American Hustle, David O. Russell and Eric Singer
Blue Jasmine, Woody Allen
Dallas Buyers Club, Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack
Her (pictured), Spike Jonze
Nebraska, Bob Nelson

8. Best Adapted Screenplay

Sony Pictures Classics

12 Years a Slave, John Ridley
Before Midnight (pictured), Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, and Ethan Hawke
Captain Phillips, Billy Ray
Philomena, Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope
The Wolf of Wall Street, Terence Winter

9. Best Animated Feature

Universal Pictures

The Croods
Despicable Me 2 (pictured)
Ernest & Celestine
The Wind Rises

10. Best Foreign Language Film

Janus Films

The Broken Circle Breakdown, Belgium
The Great Beauty, Italy (pictured)
The Hunt, Denmark
The Missing Picture, Cambodia
Omar, Palestine

11. Best Documentary Feature


20 Feet From Stardom (pictured)
The Act of Killing
Cutie and the Boxer
Dirty Wars
The Square

12. Best Original Song


“Happy,” Despicable Me 2
“Let It Go,” Frozen (featured)
“The Moon Song,” Her
“Ordinary Love,” Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom

[Update: The nomination for “Alone Yet Not Alone,” from Alone Yet Not Alone was rescinded by the Academy. More information at the end of this post.]

13. Best Original Score

Warner Bros. Pictures

The Book Thief, John Williams
Gravity (featured), Steven Price
Her, William Butler and Owen Pallett
Philomena, Alexandre Desplat
Saving Mr. Banks, Thomas Newman

14. Best Cinematography

Warner Bros. Pictures

The Grandmaster, Philippe Le Sourd
Gravity (pictured), Emmanuel Lubezki
Inside Llewyn Davis, Bruno Delbonnel
Nebraska, Phedon Papamichael
Prisoners, Roger A. Deakins

15. Best Editing

Focus Features

12 Years a Slave, Joe Walker
American Hustle, Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers, and Alan Baumgarten
Captain Phillips, Christopher Rouse
Dallas Buyers Club (pictured), John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa
Gravity, Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger

16. Best Production Design

Warner Bros. Pictures

12 Years a Slave, Adam Stockhausen and Alice Baker
American Hustle, Judy Becker and Heather Loeffler
Gravity, Andy Nicholson, Rosie Goodwin, and Joanne Woollard
The Great Gatsby, Catherine Martin and Beverley Dunn
Her (pictured), K.K. Barrett, Gene Serdena

17. Best Costume Design

Warner Bros. Pictures

12 Years a Slave, Patricia Norris
American Hustle, Michael Wilkinson
The Grandmaster, William Chang Suk Ping
The Great Gatsby (pictured), Catherine Martin
The Invisible Woman, Michael O’Connor

18. Best Makeup and Hairstyling


Dallas Buyers Club, Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews
Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa, Stephen Prouty
The Lone Ranger (pictured), Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny

19. Best Visual Effects


Gravity, Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk, and Neil Corbould
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, and Eric Reynolds
Iron Man 3 (pictured), Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash, and Dan Sudick
The Lone Ranger, Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams, and John Frazier
Star Trek Into Darkness, Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann, and Burt Dalton

20. Best Sound Editing

Roadside Attractions

All is Lost (pictured), Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns
Captain Phillips, Oliver Tarney
Gravity, Glenn Freemantle
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Brent Burge
Lone Survivor, Wylie Stateman

21. Best Sound Mixing

Columbia Pictures

Captain Phillips (pictured), Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, and Chris Munro
Gravity, Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead, and Chris Munro
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick, and Tony Johnson
Inside Llewyn Davis, Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff, and Peter F. Kurland
Lone Survivor, Andy Koyama, Beau Borders, and David Brownlow

22. Best Animated Short


Feral, Daniel Sousa and Dan Golden
Get a Horse (pictured), Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim
Mr. Hublot, Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares
Possessions, Shuhei Morita
Room on the Broom, Max Lang and Jan Lachauer

23. Best Documentary Short


CaveDigger (pictured), Jeffrey Karoff
Facing Fear, Jason Cohen
Karama Has No Walls, Sara Ishaq
The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life, Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed
Prison Terminal: Last Days of Private Jack Hall, Edgar Barens

24. Best Live-Action Short

Honlodge Productions

Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me), Esteban Crespo
Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything), Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras
Helium, Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson
Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?), Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari
The Voorman Problem (pictured), Mark Gill and Baldwin Li

25. The 86th Annual Academy Awards air on Sunday, March 2 beginning at 8 p.m. ET on ABC.

Update, Jan. 29, 2014: The Academy’s Board of Governors voted to rescind the Best Original Song nomination for “Alone Not Yet Alone,” from the independent film Alone Not Yet Alone, with music written by Bruce Broughton and lyrics by Dennis Spiegel. Broughton, a former governor of the Academy’s music branch, had emailed members of the branch to make them aware of the song’s submission for Oscar consideration, which the Academy ultimately felt “creates the appearance of an unfair advantage,” said current Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs in a statement.

The Board of Governors apparently did not point to a specific regulation prohibiting Broughton’s actions. Instead, the Academy’s release pointed to a more general directive that the Academy Awards should be “conducted in a fair and ethical manner,” which allows the Board to take “any corrective actions or assess any penalties that in its discretion it deems necessary to protect the reputation and integrity of the awards process” — even if the activity in question was “not anticipated by these regulations.”

There was no replacement nomination.

Check out more articles on BuzzFeed.com!

  Your Reaction?

    Starting soon, you'll only be able to post a comment on BuzzFeed using a Facebook account or via our app. If you have questions or thoughts, email us here.


    Now Buzzing