Seems there is some confusion here - the author is mixing vegan and vegetarian. Vegans eat no animal products (rennet, gelatin) while many vegetarians eat animal products but not animal flesh.
SuzanneRoupas is a BuzzFeed user and their posts have not been vetted or endorsed by BuzzFeed's editorial staff. BuzzFeed Community is a place where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!