24 Dances That Look Just As Silly As Twerking (Almost)

That distinctive butt-wiggle is getting a lot of attention lately, but before you start yelling “get off my lawn,” think back to the days when you used to dance. Hell, think about the dances you do right now. Aren’t we all a little bit of twerk?

1. The modified Moonwalk

Gezengi / Via gezengi.com
ID: 1402302
Tumblr / Via tumblr.com

Are you Michael Jackson? (Or Will Smith?) No? Then stop.

ID: 1397781

2. The white man’s overbite

Funny or Die / Via funnyordie.com

Well, I mean, I guess for some, it’s the only option.

ID: 1397782

3. Moshing

MySpace / Via myspace.com

Remember when it was cool to force your way down into a crowd of hundreds of people jumping up and down and throwing punches? Me, neither.

ID: 1397784

4. That dance your boss does

Funny or Die / Via funnyordie.com

Bad dancing is actually a course they make you take before you get your MBA.

ID: 1397786

5. Any dance you’ve ever done to your walkman

Goodreads / Via goodreads.com

Pssst! No one else can hear the music! (Also, don’t play. You all know what a walkman is.)

ID: 1397787

6. Grinding

We Heart It / Via weheartit.com

Unlike many twerks, there’s a peen on the other end of it.

ID: 1397789

And sometimes it goes really wrong…

OMG Soy Sauce / Via omgsoysauce.com

Remember, kids, daggering. It’s more dangerous than grinding. By a nose.

ID: 1397790

And sometimes politicians try it…

Political Humor / Via politicalhumor.about.com

I’m not sure what’s worse, that girl probably breaking her neck, or Hillary Clinton getting down.

ID: 1397792

7. Any dance you’ve ever done while high

Funny or Die / Via funnyordie.com

This is only what you think it looks like. This is not reality.

ID: 1397795

8. That dance you do when you’re happy

Diehard Stylist / Via diehardstylist.tumblr.com
ID: 1397797

Will Smith also has a super-excited version of this.

Abnormally Almost Normal / Via abnormally-almost-normal.tumblr.com
ID: 1397798

It also comes in “girl.”

Pop Crush / Via popcrush.com
ID: 1397794

9. The Twist

Seattle Twist / Via seattletwist.com

No, seriously.

ID: 1397805

10. The Elaine dance

Reddit / Via reddit.com
ID: 1397801

11. That 1-2-3 shuffle thing

Reddit / Via reddit.com

Does someone have to go to the bathroom?

ID: 1397809

12. The “He-ey, baby”

Huffington Post / Via huffingtonpost.com
ID: 1397815

13. The headbob

Funny or Die / Via funnyordie.com
ID: 1397820

14. Basically, any dance done by a white person

Funny or Die / Via funnyordie.com
ID: 1397850

Even Batman

Smosh / Via smosh.com
ID: 1397867

And Napoleon Dynamite

Benkling / Via benkling.tumblr.com

Although the jury is still out on this one. He did rock pretty hard.

ID: 1397879

And especially if you’re Gary Busey.

Funny or Die / Via funnyordie.com
ID: 1397859

Okay, maybe the Blues Brothers can get away with it.

My Fitness Pal / Via myfitnesspal.com

And you. I’m not talking about you. I’m sure you’re an excellent dancer. It’s only all those other people.

ID: 1397887

15. The washing machine

Funny or Die / Via funnyordie.com

Or is it the Cabbage Patch?

ID: 1397855

16. The lawnmower

Lockerz / Via lockerz.com

Really, any dance named after an appliance is a no-no.

ID: 1397896

17. Disco

Funny or Die / Via funnyordie.com

Although this hasn’t always been the hilarity it is today. They used to take this very, very seriously.

ID: 1397920

18. Roller Disco

sb198 / Via photobucket.com

It’s disco. On roller skates. It cannot be cool.

ID: 1397929

Unless you’re this person.

Cornelis Verwaal / Via flickriver.com

Haters gonna hate.

ID: 1397932

19. The conga

Gifs Dancing to Music / Via gifsdancingtomusic.tumblr.com
ID: 1398223

20. The running man

Tumblr / Via tumblr.com
ID: 1398232

21. Ballet

Funny or Die / Via funnyordie.com

Just kidding. (This isn’t ballet.)

ID: 1398243

22. Line dancing

Moves Like Travolta / Via movesliketravolta.tumblr.com

Okay, so this guy (John Travolta) actually seems to have it down, but that’s kind of what he does (dances). You can’t fool me. I’ve been to weddings. I’ve seen line dancing in real life.

ID: 1398260

23. The cowboy

Or whatever it is you call this. (Haha, The Apache, actually. The opposite of the cowboy.)

ID: 1398275

24. The Carlton

Tumblr / Via tumblr.com
ID: 1398290
Tumblr / Via tumblr.com
ID: 1398305

You know, it’s important to note that Carlton also twerks…

ID: 1398320

Of course, not like this…

Gif Soup / Via gifsoup.com
ID: 1398333

Or this…

Gif Boom / Via gifboom.com
ID: 1398402

Or this.

Twerk Gifs / Via twerkgifs.tumblr.com
ID: 1398416

The bottom line is, all dances, when they first come out, are likened to sex. And they’re not sex. They’re dances. They all look strange to the old bats like me, rise in popularity anyway, then are destined to be made fun of by the younger generations who in turn come up with their new dancing forms (The Twist, anyone? Disco?).

It’s a beautiful evolution, really. Just keep it off my lawn, you damn kids.

ID: 1398456

Check out more articles on BuzzFeed.com!

This post was created by a member of BuzzFeed Community, where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!

  Your Reaction?


    Now Buzzing