24 Dances That Look Just As Silly As Twerking (Almost)

That distinctive butt-wiggle is getting a lot of attention lately, but before you start yelling “get off my lawn,” think back to the days when you used to dance. Hell, think about the dances you do right now. Aren’t we all a little bit of twerk?

1. The modified Moonwalk

Gezengi / Via http://gezengi.com
Tumblr / Via http://tumblr.com

Are you Michael Jackson? (Or Will Smith?) No? Then stop.

2. The white man’s overbite

Funny or Die / Via http://funnyordie.com

Well, I mean, I guess for some, it’s the only option.

3. Moshing

MySpace / Via http://myspace.com

Remember when it was cool to force your way down into a crowd of hundreds of people jumping up and down and throwing punches? Me, neither.

4. That dance your boss does

Funny or Die / Via http://funnyordie.com

Bad dancing is actually a course they make you take before you get your MBA.

5. Any dance you’ve ever done to your walkman

Goodreads / Via http://goodreads.com

Pssst! No one else can hear the music! (Also, don’t play. You all know what a walkman is.)

6. Grinding

We Heart It / Via http://weheartit.com

Unlike many twerks, there’s a peen on the other end of it.

And sometimes it goes really wrong…

OMG Soy Sauce / Via http://omgsoysauce.com

Remember, kids, daggering. It’s more dangerous than grinding. By a nose.

And sometimes politicians try it…

Political Humor / Via http://politicalhumor.about.com

I’m not sure what’s worse, that girl probably breaking her neck, or Hillary Clinton getting down.

7. Any dance you’ve ever done while high

Funny or Die / Via http://funnyordie.com

This is only what you think it looks like. This is not reality.

8. That dance you do when you’re happy

Diehard Stylist / Via http://diehardstylist.tumblr.com

Will Smith also has a super-excited version of this.

Abnormally Almost Normal / Via http://abnormally-almost-normal.tumblr.com

It also comes in “girl.”

Pop Crush / Via http://popcrush.com

9. The Twist

Seattle Twist / Via http://seattletwist.com

No, seriously.

10. The Elaine dance

Reddit / Via http://reddit.com

11. That 1-2-3 shuffle thing

Reddit / Via http://reddit.com

Does someone have to go to the bathroom?

12. The “He-ey, baby”

Huffington Post / Via http://huffingtonpost.com

13. The headbob

Funny or Die / Via http://funnyordie.com

14. Basically, any dance done by a white person

Funny or Die / Via http://funnyordie.com

Even Batman

Smosh / Via http://smosh.com

And Napoleon Dynamite

Benkling / Via http://benkling.tumblr.com

Although the jury is still out on this one. He did rock pretty hard.

And especially if you’re Gary Busey.

Funny or Die / Via http://funnyordie.com

Okay, maybe the Blues Brothers can get away with it.

My Fitness Pal / Via http://myfitnesspal.com

And you. I’m not talking about you. I’m sure you’re an excellent dancer. It’s only all those other people.

15. The washing machine

Funny or Die / Via http://funnyordie.com

Or is it the Cabbage Patch?

16. The lawnmower

Lockerz / Via http://lockerz.com

Really, any dance named after an appliance is a no-no.

17. Disco

Funny or Die / Via http://funnyordie.com

Although this hasn’t always been the hilarity it is today. They used to take this very, very seriously.

18. Roller Disco

sb198 / Via http://photobucket.com

It’s disco. On roller skates. It cannot be cool.

Unless you’re this person.

Cornelis Verwaal / Via http://flickriver.com

Haters gonna hate.

19. The conga

Gifs Dancing to Music / Via http://gifsdancingtomusic.tumblr.com

20. The running man

Tumblr / Via http://tumblr.com

21. Ballet

Funny or Die / Via http://funnyordie.com

Just kidding. (This isn’t ballet.)

22. Line dancing

Moves Like Travolta / Via http://movesliketravolta.tumblr.com

Okay, so this guy (John Travolta) actually seems to have it down, but that’s kind of what he does (dances). You can’t fool me. I’ve been to weddings. I’ve seen line dancing in real life.

23. The cowboy

Via http://forums.station.sony

Or whatever it is you call this. (Haha, The Apache, actually. The opposite of the cowboy.)

24. The Carlton

Tumblr / Via http://tumblr.com
Tumblr / Via http://tumblr.com

You know, it’s important to note that Carlton also twerks…

Via http://forum.teamxbox.com

Of course, not like this…

Gif Soup / Via http://gifsoup.com

Or this…

Gif Boom / Via http://gifboom.com

Or this.

Twerk Gifs / Via http://twerkgifs.tumblr.com

The bottom line is, all dances, when they first come out, are likened to sex. And they’re not sex. They’re dances. They all look strange to the old bats like me, rise in popularity anyway, then are destined to be made fun of by the younger generations who in turn come up with their new dancing forms (The Twist, anyone? Disco?).

It’s a beautiful evolution, really. Just keep it off my lawn, you damn kids.

Check out more articles on BuzzFeed.com!

This post was created by a member of BuzzFeed Community, where anyone can post awesome lists and creations. Learn more or post your buzz!

          
    Now Buzzing