Breitbart’s Final Hours

An impromptu conversation about politics at a local bar and combative tweets preceded the crisis that ended his life. The digital timeline.

1. Approx. 9:30 p.m. - 11:25 p.m. (PT)

According to The Hollywood Reporter, Andrew Breitbart spent a little less than two hours talking politics with strangers at a local bar in Brentwood on Wednesday evening. Arthur Sando, a marketing executive who first struck up the conversation with Breitbart, says the conservative impresario was using his BlackBerry for much of the time. Breitbart and Sando “said goodbye around 11:30 p.m.,” when Breitbart got up to leave.

Breitbart’s penultimate tweet was sent from a BlackBerry at 10:39 p.m. PT (1:39 a.m. ET), which is consistent with Sando’s story that he was using the device at the bar.

3. 11:25 p.m. (PT)

Breitbart’s next—and last—tweet was sent from an iPad at 11:25 p.m. PT (2:25 a.m. ET). The Hollywood Reporter story does not mention anyone observing Breitbart with a tablet computer at the bar, so it seems reasonable to speculate that he had changed locations by this point, returning to wherever he kept the device (perhaps his home or car).

4. 11:25 p.m. - 12:19 a.m. (PT)

The precise timeline of Breitbart’s final 54 minutes remains unclear. At some point during this time, according to Reuters, Breitbart collapsed on a sidewalk near his Brentwood home; he was then treated by paramedics and transported to UCLA Medical Center, where he was pronounced dead at 12:19 a.m. PT.

Check out more articles on BuzzFeed.com!

Facebook Conversations
          
    Now Buzzing