How To Make A Valentine’s Day Gesture Without Looking Like A Stalker

There’s a thin line between secret admirer and ‘that creepy person.’ So how can you make a grand Valentine’s Day gesture without scaring them off? Check out Cuban Fury, in cinemas now.

1. Good: Saying it with flowers.

Bad: Saying it with blood.

Kenneth Know/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0 / Via Flickr: 56652293@N08

2. Good: Testing the waters with a card.

Etsy/EmilyMcDowellDraws / Via etsy.com

Bad: Drunk emailing to ask why they’re afraid to love you.

How I Met Your Mother / CBS/ The Chive / Via thechive.com

3. Good: Surprising them with a gift.

Mariya Z/ murchyks.com Flickr/CC BY 2.0 / Via Flickr: mariyaz

Bad: Surprising them by jumping out of their wardrobe.

Gingerpig2000/Flickr/CC BY 2.0 / Via Flickr: 27888428@N00

4. Good: Giving them a heart-shaped cake.

Kristin Ausk/Meringue Bake Shop/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0 / Via Flickr: kristinausk

Bad: Giving them an animal heart.

Matt Preston/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0 / Via Flickr: dm3photography

5. Good: Giving them a homemade gift.

Elin B / CC BY 2.0 / Via Flickr: beckmann

Bad: Building a homemade shrine to them.

6. Good: Getting them a present you know they’ll love.

Bad: Getting them a present you know they’ll love — because you’ve hacked their email.

7. Good: Reading them poetry.

Sara Richards/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0 / Via Flickr: sararichards

Bad: Reading their text messages.

Supernatural /The CW / Via norahjulia.blogg.se

8. Good: Writing a message on their Facebook wall.

Adrian Serghie/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0 / Via Flickr: adrianserghie

Bad: Writing a message on their wall.

Garry Knight/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0 / Via Flickr: garryknight

9. Good: Telling them that you’ve admired them from afar.

Bad: Telling them that you’ve been photographing them from afar.

Danielle Helm/Flickr/CC BY 2.0 / Via Flickr: daniellehelm

10. Good: Naming a star after them.

Jared Smith/Flickr (image cropped for size)/CC BY-SA 2.0 / Via Flickr: jaredsmith

Bad: Naming your cat after them.

The Found Animals Foundation/foundanimals.org /Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0 / Via Flickr: foundanimalsfoundation

Good: Wooing her with a steamy salsa dance.

STUDIOCANAL

Bad: Wooing her with Riverdance.

STUDIOCANAL

Check out more articles on BuzzFeed.com!