Photo of the Titanic under construction. The ship was built by the firm of Harland & Wolff at their shipyard on Queen’s Island, in Belfast, Ireland.
The Titanic was built alongside her sister ship, the Olympic.
The sheer size of the ships forced Harland and Wolff to demolish three existing slipways and build two new ones.
The Titanic leaving Belfast while being guide by two tug boats.
Photo taken on April 10, 1912, as the Titanic left Southampton, England, bound for New York.
The luxurious, first-class, Café Parisien:
What the café was like as described by The Shipbuilder magazine:
“…a Café Parisien, which is an entirely new feature on board ship, has been arranged in connection with the restaurant, and here lunches and dinners can be served under the same excellent conditions and with all the advantages of the restaurant itself…it will be seen that this café has the appearance of a charming sun-lit verandah, tastefully decorated in French trellis-work with ivy and other creeping plants, and is provided with small groups of chairs surrounding convenient tables.”
First-class room B-64, decorated in the Empire style.
A photo of the ship’s gymnasium, which include a punching bag, a rowing machine, and exercise bikes.
The first-class smoking room, was men only. The room was built in the Georgian style — which was a style popular with gentlemen’s club at the time.
The first-class dining saloon, at over 114 feet, was the largest room on the ship and could accommodate up to 554 passengers.
First-class entrance hall, at the top of the Grand Staircase.